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BOARD OF PHARMACY (PRX) 

General information (PRX) 
 

Duties 

The State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy is the single State agency in Ohio responsible for administering and enforcing laws governing the 
practice of pharmacy and the legal distribution of drugs. 

Since the State Board of Pharmacy is responsible for administering and enforcing the drug laws of Ohio, the Board licenses: 

- Pharmacists, (O.R.C. Chapter 4729.) 

- Pharmacy Interns, (O.R.C. Chapter 4729.) 

- Terminal and Wholesale Distributors of Dangerous Drugs (both in-state and out-of-state), (O.R.C. Chapter 4729 and 3719) 

- Home Medical Equipment Services Providers, (O.R.C. Chapter 4752.) 

- Medical Marijuana Dispensaries (including employees), (O.R.C. Chapter 3796.) 

The Board is also responsible for regulating the legal distribution of dangerous drugs in Ohio and ensuring the quality of all drugs 
administered, prescribed, dispensed by prescription, or sold over-the-counter. (O.R.C. Chapter 3715). The State Board of Pharmacy can 
discipline its licensees and registrants for violations of both federal and state laws governing the legal distribution of drugs. The Board has the 
responsibility of investigating and presenting evidence of violations of any of the federal or state drug laws by any person to the appropriate 
court (federal, state, or municipal) for prosecution of the offender (O.R.C. Chapter 2925). 

 

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.) 

The Board consists of nine members who are appointed by the Governor for terms of four years. Eight of the members are licensed 
pharmacists who represent, to the extent practicable, each phase of pharmacy practice. One member represents the public. 
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Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

The Board’s budget in FY20 was $17.3M and in FY21 is $17.1M. Generally, the Board anticipates slight growth in the coming years due to 
normal increases in costs from year to year. 

 

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?) 

In the past six years, the Board has added new license types: medical marijuana (patients and caregivers, dispensaries, and dispensary 
employees), home medical equipment service providers, and registration of pharmacy technicians (trainees, registered and certified). The 
Board’s budget in FY20 was $17.3M and in FY21 is $17.1M. Generally, the Board anticipates slight growth in the coming years due to normal 
increases in costs from year to year.  

Ohio’s drug overdose epidemic continues to be a driving factor for the overall increase in the number of investigations of drug diversion by 
the Board. The total number of case investigations increased from 1,290 in 2015 to 1,700 in 2019, an overall increase of 32 percent. 
Additionally, the number of investigations in 2020 (1,511 as of 8/31/20) are currently on track to exceed 2019.   

Since 2015, the number of licenses issued by the Board has increased substantially.  In 2015, the Board reported 41,885 active licenses.  By 
2020, that number has increased approximately 88 percent to 78,816 active licenses. This significant increase in licensure over the past few 
years has also resulted in an overall demand on staff to process, issue, investigate, hold administrative hearings, and conduct inspections. 
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Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the board? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the board’s current 
and anticipated workload?) 

The Board of Pharmacy has an authorized ceiling of 96 full-time permanent staff. Over half of these are dedicated to compliance and 
enforcement efforts. The remainder serve in legal, licensing, OARRS, public and legislative affairs, IT, and administrative support. 

The Board is currently operating at an appropriate staff level.  Board staff has increased from 57 in FY 15 to a ceiling of 96 in FY21. 

 

Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess 
the efficiency of the processes.)  

The Board receives numerous complaints involving its licensees. These complaints are triaged weekly and reviewed by two supervisors during 
the Board’s Intake Review Process. If a complaint alleges impairment, theft, or an immediate threat to public, it is immediately assigned to the 
Board’s investigative field staff. 

During the intake review process, it is determined whether the Board of Pharmacy has the scope and authority to investigate. Possible 
outcomes of the Intake Review Process include: 

 Assigned for further investigation (for matters alleging an administrative violation of ORC/OAC 3715, 3796, 3719, 4729, or 4752 or a 
criminal violation of ORC 2925); 

 Referred to the appropriate agency to investigate; or 

 Closed following administrative review. 

Complainants are notified at the conclusion of the Intake Review Process as to the course of action. 

Investigative staff are required (as part of internal processes) to contact the complainant within 3 business days. The Board’s investigative 
staff will then collect evidence, conduct interviews, and document findings as it pertains to the investigation. A single complaint could result in 
both an administrative and criminal investigation depending on the nature of the allegations. 

At the conclusion of the investigation, field staff will submit findings to a supervisor for review. Upon approval of the investigative reports, the 
investigation may be referred for criminal or administrative action or both. 
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Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Board’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. Assess 
the efficiency of the processes.)  

Criminal cases investigated by Board staff are submitted to the local county prosecutor or the U.S. Attorney. Ultimately, the prosecutor 
determines if the investigation is to be presented to a grand jury. 

Board investigators will still stay involved in the investigation if the activities alleged would violate its administrative rules. In many instances, 
the Board defers to the preferences of the criminal investigators prior to proceeding with administrative action, unless there is an immediate 
threat to public safety and a license must be summarily suspended. 

The Board posts all administrative actions online and ensures they are publicly available on eLicense, both the notice of hearing and 
subsequent Board Order related to discipline. 

 

Pharmacist license  

Survey responses (PRX) 
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Description 

A pharmacist scope of practice is defined in 4729.01 and includes: 

(1) Interpreting prescriptions; 

(2) Dispensing drugs and drug therapy related devices; 

(3) Compounding drugs; 

(4) Counseling individuals with regard to their drug therapy, recommending drug therapy related devices, and assisting in the selection of drugs 
and appliances for treatment of common diseases and injuries and providing instruction in the proper use of the drugs and appliances; 

(5) Performing drug regimen reviews with individuals by discussing all of the drugs that the individual is taking and explaining the interactions 
of the drugs; 

(6) Performing drug utilization reviews with licensed health professionals authorized to prescribe drugs when the pharmacist determines that 
an individual with a prescription has a drug regimen that warrants additional discussion with the prescriber; 

(7) Advising an individual and the health care professionals treating an individual with regard to the individual’s drug therapy; 

(8) Acting pursuant to a consult agreement with one or more physicians authorized under Chapter 4731. of the Revised Code to practice 
medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine and surgery, if an agreement has been established; 

(9) Engaging in the administration of immunizations to the extent authorized by section 4729.41 of the Revised Code; 

(10) Engaging in the administration of drugs to the extent authorized by section 4729.45 of the Revised Code. 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Occupational License. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019 - 1,034  

Number renewed annually 2019 – 19,603* 

*2019 renewal marked the beginning of biennial renewal cycle for pharmacists. Pharmacists 
who renewed in 2019 will not renew again until 2021. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No. There has not been a significant increase or decrease in active registrations. Since FY 2015, 
the Board has added on average about 1,000 new pharmacists each year.  

Education or training requirements The education requirements for pharmacists is outlined in OAC 4729:1-2-03. It includes either of 
the following:  

(a) A certificate of education completed and certified by an approved school of pharmacy 
documenting the successful graduation of the applicant with a doctor of pharmacy degree 
obtained after December 31, 2006; or 

(b) The required hours of supervised practical experience pursuant to rule 4729:2-2-05 of the 
Administrative Code, and either: 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(i) A certificate of education completed and certified by an approved school of pharmacy 
documenting the successful graduation of the applicant; or 

(ii) Certification of having established educational equivalency by obtaining a “Foreign Pharmacy 
Graduate Examination Commission” (FPGEC) certificate and evidence of successful completion of 
the “Test of English as a Foreign Language, Internet-based test (TOEFL iBT)” pursuant to rule 
4729:1-2-04 of the Administrative Code. 

Experience requirements The experience requirements are outlined in 4729:2-2-05.  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:2-2-05 

(A) The pharmacy internship credit requirement for the licensure examinations shall be deemed 
satisfactorily completed when the intern has either: 

(1) Successfully graduated after December 31, 2006 with a doctor of pharmacy degree 
(“Pharm.D.”) from a school of pharmacy approved by the “Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 
Education” (A.C.P.E.) and the state board of pharmacy; or 

(2) Obtained a total of at least one thousand seven hundred and forty hours of documented 
supervised practical experience accepted by the state board of pharmacy which may include any 
hours: 

(a) Documented on a practical experience affidavit pursuant to rule 4729:2-2-06 of the 
Administrative Code; or 

(b) Worked in another state where the appropriate licensing agency submits to the board an 
official verification of the actual practical experience contact hours completed that meets the 
requirements in paragraph (A)(2) of this rule. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

All pharmacists must complete a national examination to practice anywhere in the country 
(referred to as the NAPLEX) and the state specific Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence (MPJE) 
Exam. Both are administered by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy.  

Fees to take the NAPLEX includes a $100 application fee and exam fee of $475. Fees to take the 
MPJE includes a $100 application fee and exam fee of $150. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Pharmacists are required to obtain a minimum of 4.0 CEUS (40 hours) every license renewal 
(two-year period).  

This includes: 

- Minimum 2 hours medication errors/patient safety (ACPE -05) 

- Minimum 2 hours jurisprudence or law (ACPE -03) or Ohio Board of Pharmacy Approved 
Jurisprudence 

CE can only be obtained by ACPE courses and CE from approved in-state providers. Approved in 
state providers can only provide law CE. The Board offers CE opportunities as well. The CE 
requirements are outlined in this rule: http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:1-5-02 

Initial fee The fees are outlined in ORC 4729.15. The fee for an initial license is $110.00 plus $3.50 eLicense 
system transaction fee. 

Traditionally, the initial license fee has been less than the renewal fee because of the costs 
associated with taking the NAPLEX and MPJE. 

Duration  Pharmacist licenses are renewed on a biennial cycle. The requirements are outlined in 4729:1-2-
07 and below: 

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (B)(2) of this rule, a pharmacist license issued by the state 
board of pharmacy in accordance with Chapter 4729. of the Revised Code entitles the individual 
to whom it is issued to practice as a pharmacist until the next renewal date. 

(2) An initial pharmacist license issued by the state board of pharmacy on or after the first of May 
of every odd-numbered year in accordance with Chapter 4729. of the Revised Code entitles the 
individual to whom it is issued to practice as a pharmacist until the renewal date immediately 
following the next required renewal date. 

(3) A pharmacist license shall be renewed on the fifteenth day of September of every odd-
numbered year. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Fees are outlined in ORC 4729.15. Renewal fee is $250.00 (for a two-year license) plus $3.50 
eLicense system transaction fee.  

Traditionally, the initial license fee has been less than the renewal fee because of the costs 
associated with taking the NAPLEX. 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes. The Board allows for reciprocity. Candidates must apply with the Board of Pharmacy and 
with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP). NABP operates a national system 
whereby the State Boards of Pharmacy verify out-of-state license in good standing and notifies 
states through their clearing house regarding any disciplinary action taken against a licensee in 
another state through the NABP Clearinghouse. 

All pharmacist must complete the national examination to practice anywhere in the country 
(NAPLEX). There is not an additional examination required prior to applying for licensure from 
another state. Ohio candidates are required to appear before the Board for a reciprocity law 
review prior to receiving their license from the Board. Reciprocity occurs monthly.  

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, the Board has authority to exercise discretion in determining whether to license an 
individual.  

All pharmacist applicants are required to complete a BCI and FBI background check before the 
Board will license a pharmacist.  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:1-4-01 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Administrative actions taken against a licensee can range from permanent revocation to imposition of fines or, for pharmacists and interns, 
additional continuing education requirements. Suspensions and probations are also utilized, particularly in cases of substance abuse where 
rehabilitation is deemed possible. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:1-4-01 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Revenue from Pharmacist licensing, including pharmacy interns and reciprocal licensing of out-of-state pharmacists, totaled $7.7M for fiscal 
years 2019 and 2020. Revenue is used to support the general operations of the Board of Pharmacy, including licensing, compliance and 
enforcement, and OARRS. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The regulation of the practice of pharmacy has traditionally been done at the state level by legislatively created state boards of pharmacy.  

Yes.  Federal laws and regulations (both DEA and FDA) have provisions that require licensure of a pharmacist.   

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The licensing of pharmacists is essential to protecting the public health of Ohioans. Pharmacists have access to dangerous drugs, can perform 
direct healthcare services (vaccines, other drug administration, etc.) personal health information, and counsel patients on health outcomes.   

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. The Board works with pharmacists to ensure that the security and control of dangerous drugs is maintained.  Additionally, licensure 
ensures that pharmacists maintain standards when providing patients direct healthcare services.   
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Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

All fifty states and District of Columbia and Puerto Rico license pharmacists. Pharmacy education is standardized across the country, the Board 
believes that Ohio is comparable with other states.  

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Pharmacist License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4729.12) Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-26-13-29) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.030) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17711) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 390-8) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-2) 

Education or 
training 

Obtain a degree 
from an approved 
pharmacy 

Graduate from an 
accredited school 
of pharmacy (Ind. 

Graduate from an 
approved school 
of pharmacy (Ky. 

Obtain a degree 
from an 
accredited school 
of pharmacy 

Hold a Bachelor 
of Science or 
advanced degree 
in pharmacy from 

Graduate from a 
recognized school 
of pharmacy (W. 
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Pharmacist License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

program (R.C. 
4729.08) 

Code Ann. 25-26-
13-11) 

Rev. Stat. Ann. 
315.050) 

(Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 338.474) 

an accredited 
school of 
pharmacy (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 390-3) 

Va. Code Ann. 30-
5-5) 

Experience Complete a 
pharmacy 
internship (R.C. 
4729.08) 

Complete an 
approved 
pharmacy intern 
program (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
13-11) 

Complete an 
approved 
pharmacy 
internship (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
315.050) 

Complete a 
pharmacy 
internship 
program (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
338.474) 

Complete an 
approved 
internship 
program (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 390-3) 

Complete a 
1,500-hour 
pharmacy 
internship (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 30-5-5) 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4729.07 
and 4729.08) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-26-13-11) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.050) 

Yes (Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 338.474) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 390-3) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-5) 

Continuing 
education 

40 hours every 
two years (O.A.C. 
4729:1-5-02) 

30 hours every 
two years (856 
Ind. Admin. Code 
1-26-1) 

15 hours every 
year (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:015) 

30 hours every 
two years (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
338.3041) 

30 hours every 
two years (49 Pa. 
Code 27.32) 

30 hours every 
two years (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-3-4) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$110 for license by 
examination 

$337.50 for license 
by reciprocity  

(R.C. 4729.15(A)(1) 
to (3); State of 
Ohio Board of 
Pharmacy, Fees) 

$100 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$150 (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:050) 

$102.60 
(Licensing and 
Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacist 
Licensing Guide) 

$45 (49 Pa. Code 
27.91) 

$125 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-2) 
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Pharmacist License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Two years (R.C. 
4729.12) 

Two years (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
13-14) 

One year (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
315.110) 

Two years (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
338.3041) 

Two years (49 Pa. 
Code 27.31) 

Two years (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-16-5) 

Renewal fee $250 (R.C. 
4729.15(A)(4)) 

$160 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$70 (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:050) 

$75.60 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacist 
Licensing Guide) 

$190 (49 Pa. Code 
27.91) 

$100 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 

 

Pharmacy intern license 

Survey responses (PRX) 
 

Description 

A license as a pharmacy intern shall only be issued for the purpose of allowing those individuals who intend to become licensed pharmacists 
the opportunity to obtain the practical experience required for examination and licensure as a pharmacist. 

Per OAC 4729:2-3-01, a pharmacy intern may engage in the following: 

In addition to assisting a pharmacist with technical functions, a pharmacy intern may perform the following professional functions under the 
direct supervision of a pharmacist: 

(A) The sale of schedule V controlled substances pursuant to agency 4729 of the Administrative Code. 

(B) The receipt of oral prescriptions pursuant to rule 4729:5-5-10 of the Administrative Code and other applicable provisions of agency 4729 of 
the Administrative Code. 
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Description 

(C) The transfer and receipt of a non-controlled prescription copy pursuant to rule 4729:5-5-11 of the Administrative Code and other 
applicable provisions of agency 4729 of the Administrative Code. 

(D) The act of patient counseling pursuant to rule 4729:5-5-09 of the Administrative Code and other applicable provisions of agency 4729 of 
the Administrative Code. 

(E) The administration of immunizations pursuant to section 4729.41 of the Revised Code and agency 4729 of the Administrative Code. 

(F) The documentation of informed consent to administer an immunization pursuant to section 4729.41 of the Revised Code. 

(G) The dispensing of naloxone pursuant to section 4729.44 of the Revised Code and other dangerous drugs as authorized under Chapter 
4729. of the Revised Code. 

(H) Non-sterile compounding. 

(I) Sterile compounding. 

(J) Sending or receiving electronic prescriptions between pharmacies accessing the same prescription records in a centralized database or 
pharmacy computers linked in any other manner. 

(K) Contacting a prescriber or prescriber’s agent to obtain clarification for a prescription order if the clarification does not require the exercise 
of professional judgment. 

(L) Performing diagnostic laboratory testing pursuant to agency 4729 of the Administrative Code. 

(M) Requesting refill authorizations for dangerous drugs from a prescriber or the prescriber’s agent. 

(N) Notwithstanding the definition of direct supervision, a pharmacy intern may stock an automated drug dispensing unit and floor stock at a 
location licensed as a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs if a pharmacist is not physically present at the licensed location and all of the 
following apply: 

(1) A pharmacist is readily available to answer questions of the intern; 

(2) A pharmacist is responsible for conducting routine verifications of the activities of the intern to prevent the diversion of dangerous drugs; 

(3) A pharmacist is fully responsible for all activities conducted by the intern at the licensed location. 
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Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Occupational license. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019 - 912 

Number renewed annually 2019 – 2,343* 

*2019 renewal marked the beginning of biennial renewal cycle for pharmacy interns. Pharmacy 
Interns who renewed in 2019 will not renew again until 2021. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No, there have been a consistent number of pharmacy interns working in the state.  

Education or training requirements The requirements are spelled out in OAC 4729:2-2-01. 

(B) If a person is actively working towards the requirements for licensure as a pharmacist and 
desires to work as a pharmacy intern in Ohio, the person shall: 

(1) Comply with at least one of the following: 

(a) Have successfully completed at least sixty semester or ninety quarter hours of college, be 
enrolled in a school of pharmacy, and has begun taking professional classes directly related to the 
practice of pharmacy; 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(b) Have obtained a first professional degree in pharmacy from a program which has been 
recognized and approved by the state board of pharmacy; or 

(c) Have established educational equivalency by obtaining a “Foreign Pharmacy Graduate 
Examination Commission (FPGEC)” certificate, and have established proficiency in spoken English 
by successfully completing the “Test of English as a Foreign Language, Internet-based test” (TOEFL 
iBT) pursuant to rule 4729:2-2-06 of the Administrative Code. 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who administers 
the exam? How is the exam and administrator 
selected? What fees are charged? Does the 
Board receive any proceeds of those fees? If so, 
how are the proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements (Including 
a description of the curriculum and the process 
of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $45.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee. This is outlined in 4729.15. 

Duration  Biennial License 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, please 
explain why.) 

$45.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee. This is outlined in 4729.15. 

Does the Board recognize uniform licensure 
requirements or allow for reciprocity? 

No, there is not intern reciprocity. Pharmacy intern licensure is tied to enrollment in a pharmacy 
school.  However, nothing prohibits an intern from applying for licensure if they are enrolled in 
pharmacy school.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any similar national registrations, 
certifications, or licenses? Could they be used 
as a substitute for the state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by the 
board? 

No 

Is the Board permitted to exercise discretion 
in determining whether to register, certify, or 
license an individual? 

Yes, per OAC 4729:2-2-02, the state board of pharmacy may deny the issuance of a license to 
practice as a pharmacy intern. 

Other information (Significant attributes or 
prerequisites to licensure not addressed in this 
chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Administrative actions taken against a licensee can range from permanent revocation to imposition of fines or, for pharmacists and interns, 
additional continuing education requirements. Suspensions and probations are also utilized, particularly in cases of substance abuse where 
rehabilitation is deemed possible. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:2-4 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Revenue from Pharmacist licensing, including pharmacy interns and reciprocal licensing of out-of-state pharmacists, totaled $7.7M for fiscal 
years 2019 and 2020. Revenue is used to support the general operations of the Board of Pharmacy, including licensing, compliance and 
enforcement, and OARRS. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The regulation of the practice of pharmacy has traditionally been done at the state level by legislatively created state boards of pharmacy.  In 
some instances, federal laws and regulations require licensure of pharmacy interns.  For example, recent federal guidance authorizing the 
administration of COVID-19 vaccines extends to pharmacy interns that are licensed or registered by their respective state board of pharmacy.   

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The licensing of the pharmacy practice is essential to protecting the public health of Ohioans. Pharmacists and other pharmacy staff have 
access to dangerous drugs, personal health information, and counsel patients on health outcomes.  Additionally, pharmacy interns can 
provide direct healthcare services (ex. vaccinations).   
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The licensing of pharmacy interns is essential to protecting the public health of Ohioans. Pharmacists and other pharmacy staff have access to 
dangerous drugs, personal health information, and counsel patients on health outcomes.  Additionally, licensure ensures that interns maintain 
standards when providing patients direct healthcare services such as vaccines.   

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

According to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, every state except for two (Tennessee, Wisconsin) require the licensure or 
registration of pharmacy interns.  
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Pharmacy Intern License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4729.11) Yes, registration 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-13-10.5; see 
also 25-26-13-10) 

Yes, registration 
(201 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 2:040) 

Yes, a limited 
license is required 
for interns (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17737) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 390-8) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-13; W. 
Va. Code R. 15-1-4) 

Education or 
training 

Enrolled in a 
school of 
pharmacy and 
actively working 
towards 
pharmacist 
licensure (R.C. 
4729.11; O.A.C. 
4729:2-2-01) 

Enrolled in a 
school of 
pharmacy 
accredited by the 
American Council 
of Pharmaceutical 
Education (ACPE) 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-13-10) 

Enrolled in an 
approved college 
or school of 
pharmacy (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:040) 

Enrolled in an 
accredited college 
or school of 
pharmacy (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
338.473a) 

Completed at 
least two years of 
college and is 
enrolled or 
accepted as a 
student in an 
ACPE-accredited 
pharmacy degree 
program (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 390-3; 
49 Pa. Code 
27.26) 

Enrolled in or a 
graduate of an 
approved school 
of pharmacy (W. 
Va. Code Ann. 
30-5-13) 

Experience No No No No No No 

Exam No No No No No No 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 
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Pharmacy Intern License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$45 (R.C. 
4729.15(A)(8)) 

$10 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$25 (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:050) 

$43.20 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacist Intern 
Licensing Guide) 

$35 (49 Pa. Code 
27.91) 

$10 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 

License duration One year (O.A.C. 
4729:2-2-04) 

One year (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
13-10) 

Six years (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
315.050) 

One year (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
338.473a) 

Six years (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 390-3) 

One year (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-16-5) 

Renewal fee $45 (R.C. 
4729.15(A)(9)) 

$10 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

Does not appear 
to be renewable 

$16.20 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacist Intern 
Licensing Guide) 

Does not appear 
renewable 

$5 (W. Va. Code R. 
15-16-5) 
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Registered pharmacy technician 

Survey responses (PRX) 
 

Description 

Per Ohio Revised Code 4729.91, a registered pharmacy technician may, under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, engage in the following 
activities at a location licensed as a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs to the extent that the activities do not require the exercise of 
professional judgment: 

(1) Accepting new written or electronic prescription orders from a prescriber or a prescriber’s agent; 

(2) Entering information into and retrieving information from a database or patient profile; 

(3) Preparing and affixing labels; 

(4) Stocking dangerous drugs and retrieving those drugs from inventory; 

(5) Counting and pouring dangerous drugs into containers; 

(6) Placing dangerous drugs into patient storage containers; 

(7) Non-sterile drug compounding as authorized by the state board of pharmacy in rules adopted under section 4729.94 of the Revised Code; 

(8) Other activities specified by the board in rules adopted under section 4729.94 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Occupational license. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019 – 2,000 

Number renewed annually First renewal began January 30, 2020 and is currently underway and has been delayed/extended 
to December 1, 2020 pursuant to HB 197. As of 8/13/2020, 5,154 (54%) registrations had been 
renewed. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Registration requirements became effective in April of 2018.  

Education or training requirements Registered pharmacy technicians are required to complete a training program as required in 
OAC 4729:3-2-02. Registered technicians are required to complete a high school diploma, a 
certificate of high school equivalence, a foreign school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. high 
school diploma or has been employed continuously since prior to April 8, 2009, as a pharmacy 
technician without a high school diploma or certificate of high school equivalence.  

Experience requirements Registered pharmacy technicians are required to complete a training program as required in 
OAC 4729:3-2-02. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-3-02  

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Registered pharmacy technicians are required to complete ten contact hours of continuing 
pharmacy education prior to renewing their registration.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

The continuing education hours include: 

(1) Two contact hours (0.2 C.E.Us) of continuing pharmacy education shall be in the subject of 
pharmacy jurisprudence (law). 

(2) Two contact hours (0.2 C.E.Us) of continuing pharmacy education shall be in the subject of 
patient or medication safety. 

A registered pharmacy technician may satisfy up to one-third of the technician’s continuing 
education requirements by providing health care services as a volunteer in accordance with 
section 4745.04 of the Revised Code. The location where health care services are provided shall 
be an approved in-state provider of volunteer healthcare services in accordance with agency 
4729 of the Administrative Code. 

Initial fee Per Ohio Revised Code, $50.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee.  

Duration  Biennial registration. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

(E) An initial registration for a registered pharmacy technician and certified pharmacy technician 
is valid until the renewal date set forth in rule 4729:3-2-03 of the Administrative Code. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Per Ohio Revised Code, $50.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee.  

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

The Board recognizes national certifications as part of the licensure process. By law, the Board is 
required to recognize national certifications for certified technicians. Those include PTCB and 
ExCPT.  However, this national standard requires a high school diploma and some other 
standards which may preclude individuals who have been working as pharmacy technicians to 
work in Ohio for the last 10-20 years.  Additionally, this standard is required for more advanced 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

tasks of a technician.  Therefore, this registration type ensures that there are options available 
for pharmacy technicians who do not seek this advanced status.   

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Rule 4729:3-1-01 permits “support personnel” to carry out certain functions without the 
requirement to register as a pharmacy technician. These generally allow cashiers and other 
personnel to work within the pharmacy without requiring registration with the Board.  

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, the Board is permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register a pharmacy 
technician. This is outlined in OAC 4729:3-2-01. This includes:  

(1) Comply with all requirements set forth in section 4729.90 of the Revised Code. 

(3) Comply with the criminal records check requirements pursuant to rule 4729:3-2-02 of the 
Administrative Code. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-4-01 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Administrative actions taken against a licensee can range from permanent revocation to imposition of fines. Suspensions and probations are 
also utilized, particularly in cases of substance abuse where rehabilitation is deemed possible. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-4-01 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Revenue from Pharmacy Technician licensing, including registered, certified, and trainees, totaled $834,000 for fiscal years 2019 and 2020. 
Revenue is used to support the general operations of the Board of Pharmacy, including licensing, compliance and enforcement, and OARRS. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The regulation of the practice of pharmacy has traditionally been done at the state level by legislatively created state boards of pharmacy.  
There are no federal regulations that require regulation of pharmacy technicians. 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Through the registration of pharmacy technicians there is a reduced opportunity for diversion by establishing a registration system that 
prohibits a technician who engaged in drug theft from easily obtaining employment at another location.  Prior to the establishment of 
pharmacy technician registration,  pharmacy technicians accounted for more than one-third of all drug theft cases investigated by the Board 
of Pharmacy, and the lack of a registration process makes it too easy for a technician who is fired for theft to find new employment with 
another pharmacy. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes.  Since the adoption of technician registration, the Board has taken administrative action against technicians primarily for engaging in the 
theft of drugs.  For example, in FY 2019, the Board summarily suspended 33 technician registrations for violations that met the standard of 
“immediate and serious harm to others” in ORC 3719.121.    

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Forty-five states require some form of licensure or registration of pharmacy technicians.  Ohio appears in between because it offers several 
levels of technician registration to account for differences in skill level and practice level.   
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Registered Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4729.95 
and 4729.99) 

License required 
to practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-9) 

Registration 
required to 
practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; 
certified 
pharmacy 
technicians and 
pharmacy 
technicians are 
recognized (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
315.030 and 
315.135; 201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

License required 
to practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17711 and 
333.17739) 

No Registration 
required to 
practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (W. 
Va. Code Ann. 30-
5-11) 

Education or 
training 

Complete one of 
the following:  

1. A program 
accredited by 
the American 
Society of 
Health-system 
Pharmacists/ 
Accreditation 
Council for 

Completed an 
approved 
program of 
education and 
training or pass a 
certification 
examination 
offered by an 
approved, 
nationally 
recognized 

Unclear for 
pharmacy 
technicians; for 
certified 
pharmacy 
technicians, 
completion of a 
training program 
is one option (201 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

Complete a 
pharmacy 
technician 
training program 
approved by the 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Certification 
Board, the 
National 
Healthcareer 

N/A Three options: 

1. Graduate 
from an 
approved 
competency-
based 
pharmacy 
technician 
education and 
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Registered Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Pharmacy 
Education; 

2. A program 
conducted by 
a branch of 
the U.S. 
Armed Forces, 
the Indian 
Health 
Service, or the 
U.S. 
Department 
of Veterans 
Affairs; 

3. An employer-
based training 
program; or 

4. An approved 
program 
offered by an 
Ohio public 
high school as 
part of a 
career-
technical 
education 
program  

certification body 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-19-5) 

Association or 
other nationally 
recognized 
certifying 
organization 
approved by the 
Board or an 
employer-based 
training program 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17739a) 

training 
program; 

2. Complete an 
approved 
pharmacy-
provided, 
competency-
based 
education and 
training 
program; or  

3. Obtain 
national 
certification 
and have 
practiced in 
another 
jurisdiction  

(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-5-11) 
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Registered Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(R.C. 4729.90; 
O.A.C. 4729:3-2-01 
and 4729:3-3-02) 

Experience No No No No N/A No 

Exam No Exam may be 
taken in lieu of 
graduation from a 
competency-
based pharmacy 
technician 
education and 
training program 
or completion of 
an employer 
provided training 
program (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-5) 

For certified 
pharmacy 
technicians, exam 
is one option for 
obtaining 
registration (201 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

Yes, may be 
nationally 
recognized or 
employer-based 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17739a) 

N/A Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-11) 

Continuing 
education 

Ten hours every 
two years (O.A.C. 
4729:3-5-02) 

No No 20 hours every 
two years or 
passage of a 
proficiency 
examination 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17731) 

N/A No, but proof of 
national 
certification is 
required for 
renewal (West 
Virginia Board of 
Pharmacy, 
Renewal) 
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Registered Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$50 (R.C 
4729.901) 

$25 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.136) 

$91.80 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Licensing Guide) 

N/A $25 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 

License duration Two years (O.A.C. 
4729:3-2-03) 

Two years (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-7) 

One year (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
315.138) 

Two years (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17731) 

N/A Two years (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-16-5) 

Renewal fee $50 (O.A.C. 
4729:3-2-03) 

$25 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.138) 

$64.80 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Licensing Guide) 

N/A $20 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 
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Certified pharmacy technician 

Survey responses (PRX) 
 

Description 

Per Ohio Revised Code 4729.91, a certified pharmacy technician may, under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, engage in the following 
activities at a location licensed as a terminal distributor of dangerous drugs to the extent that the activities do not require the exercise of 
professional judgment: 

(1) Any activity listed in division (A) of this section; 

(2) Accepting or requesting refill authorizations for dangerous drugs that are not controlled substances from a prescriber or the prescriber’s 
agent, so long as there is no change from the original prescription; 

(3) Sterile and non-sterile drug compounding as authorized by the board in rules adopted under section 4729.94 of the Revised Code; 

(4) Other activities specified by the board in rules adopted under section 4729.94 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Occupational license. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019 – 1,280 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number renewed annually First renewal began August 1, 2020 and is currently underway and has been delayed/extended 
to December 1, 2020 pursuant to HB 197. As of 8/13/2020, 995 (8%) registrations had been 
renewed. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Registration requirements became effective in April of 2018.  

Education or training requirements The training and education requirements are outlined in 4729:3-2-01 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Training - (2) Complete an approved training program pursuant to rule 4729:3-3-02 of the 
Administrative Code or the education and training requirements set forth in division (E)(2) of 
section 4729.90 of the Revised Code. 

Education - (i) Has a high school diploma, a certificate of high school equivalence or a foreign 
school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma; 

Certification - (b) Documentation, as specified by the board, that the applicant has a current 
pharmacy technician certification from an organization that has been recognized by the board. 

Experience requirements The experience requirements are outlined in 4729:3-2-01. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

To qualify as a certified pharmacy technician applicant, there are two types of examinations, 
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) or ExCPT.  

The cost associated with PTCB includes the completion of a PTCB- Recognized 
Education/Training Program or 500 hours of work experience and the successful passaged of the 
PTCB exam. The exam costs $129.  

ExCPT requires the completion of a pharmacy technician related training program or 1200 hours 
of work experience within the last three years prior to taking the exam. The exam costs $117. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

The Board does not receive any proceeds of those fees. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

As a condition for the renewal of a registration as a certified pharmacy technician, the technician 
shall complete all continuing education requirements necessary to maintain the registrant’s 
pharmacy technician certification from an organization that has been recognized by the board.  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729%3A3-5-02 

Initial fee $50.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee. The fees are outlined in statute.   

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Duration  Biennial  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$50.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee. The fees are outlined in statute.  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-03 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No  

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

The Board recognizes national certifications as part of the licensure process. By law, the Board is 
required to recognize national certifications for certified technicians. Those include PTCB and 
ExCPT. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Rule 4729:3-1-01 permits “support personnel” to carry out certain functions without the 
requirement to register as a pharmacy technician. These generally allow cashiers and other 
personnel to work within the pharmacy without requiring registration with the Board.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, the Board is permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register a certified 
pharmacy technician. This is outlined in OAC 4729:3-2-01. This includes:  

(1) Comply with all requirements set forth in section 4729.90 of the Revised Code. 

(2) Complete an approved training program. 

(3) Comply with the criminal records check requirements pursuant to rule 4729:3-2-02 of the 
Administrative Code. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-4-01 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Administrative actions taken against a licensee can range from permanent revocation to imposition of fines. Suspensions and probations are 
also utilized, particularly in cases of substance abuse where rehabilitation is deemed possible. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Revenue from Pharmacy Technician licensing, including registered, certified, and trainees, totaled $834,000 for fiscal years 2019 and 2020. 
Revenue is used to support the general operations of the Board of Pharmacy, including licensing, compliance and enforcement, and OARRS. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The regulation of the practice of pharmacy has traditionally been done at the state level by legislatively created state boards of pharmacy.  
There are no federal regulations that require regulation of pharmacy technicians. 

 

What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Through the registration of pharmacy technicians there is a reduced opportunity for diversion by establishing a registration system that 
prohibits a technician who engaged in drug theft from easily obtaining employment at another location.  Prior to the establishment of 
pharmacy technician registration,  pharmacy technicians accounted for more than one-third of all drug theft cases investigated by the Board 
of Pharmacy, and the lack of a registration process makes it too easy for a technician who is fired for theft to find new employment with 
another pharmacy. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes.  Since the adoption of technician registration, the Board has taken administrative action against technicians primarily for engaging in the 
theft of drugs.  For example, in FY 2019, the Board summarily suspended 33 technician registrations for violations that met the standard of 
“immediate and serious harm to others” in ORC 3719.121.  

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 

 

Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

 Forty-five states require some form of licensure or registration of pharmacy technicians.  
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4729.95 
and 4729.99) 

License required 
to practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-9) 

Registration 
required to 
practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; 
certified 
pharmacy 
technicians and 
pharmacy 
technicians are 
recognized (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
315.030 and 
315.135; 201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

License required 
to practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17711 and 
333.17739) 

No Registration 
required to 
practice as a 
pharmacy 
technician; no 
distinction 
between 
registered or 
certified 
technicians (W. 
Va. Code Ann. 30-
5-11) 

Education or 
training 

Complete one of 
the following:  

1. A program 
accredited by 
the American 
Society of 
Health-system 
Pharmacists/ 
Accreditation 
Council for 

Completed an 
approved 
program of 
education and 
training or pass a 
certification 
examination 
offered by an 
approved, 
nationally 
recognized 

Unclear for 
pharmacy 
technicians; for 
certified 
pharmacy 
technicians, 
completion of a 
training program 
is one option (201 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

Complete a 
pharmacy 
technician 
training program 
approved by the 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Certification 
Board, the 
National 
Healthcareer 

N/A Three options: 

1. Graduate 
from an 
approved 
competency-
based 
pharmacy 
technician 
education and 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 136 Occupational Regulation 

Registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Pharmacy 
Education; 

2. A program 
conducted by 
a branch of 
the U.S. 
armed forces, 
the Indian 
Health 
Service, or the 
U.S. 
Department 
of Veterans 
Affairs; 

3. An employer-
based training 
program; or 

4. An approved 
program 
offered by an 
Ohio public 
high school as 
part of a 
career-
technical 
education 
program 

Submit 
documentation of 

certification body 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-19-5) 

Association, or 
other nationally 
recognized 
certifying 
organization 
approved by the 
Board or an 
employer-based 
training program 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17739a) 

training 
program  

2. Complete an 
approved 
pharmacy-
provided, 
competency-
based 
education and 
training 
program; or 

3. Obtain 
national 
certification 
and have 
practiced in 
another 
jurisdiction  

(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-5-11) 
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Registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

current pharmacy 
technician 
certification from 
an organization 
recognized by the 
Board  

(R.C. 4729.90; 
O.A.C. 4729:3-2-01 
and 4729:3-3-02) 

Experience No No No No N/A No 

Exam No, unless an 
exam is a 
component of one 
of the education 
and training 
requirements 
above 

Exam may be 
taken in lieu of 
graduation from a 
competency-
based pharmacy 
technician 
education and 
training program 
or completion of 
an employer–
provided training 
program (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-5) 

For certified 
pharmacy 
technicians, exam 
is one option for 
obtaining 
registration (201 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
2:045) 

Yes, may be 
nationally 
recognized or 
employer-based 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17739a) 

N/A Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-11) 

Continuing 
education 

Ten hours every 
two years (R.C. 

No No 20 hours every 
two years or 
passage of a 

N/A No, but proof of 
national 
certification is 
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Registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

4729.94; O.A.C. 
4729:3-5-02) 

proficiency 
examination 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17731) 

required for 
renewal (West 
Virginia Board of 
Pharmacy, 
Renewal) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$50 (R.C. 
4729.901) 

$25 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.136) 

$91.80 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Licensing Guide) 

N/A $25 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 

License duration Two years (O.A.C. 
4729:3-2-03) 

Two years (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
19-7) 

One year (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
315.138) 

Two years (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17731) 

N/A Two years (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-16-5) 

Renewal fee $50 (O.A.C. 
4729:3-2-03) 

$25 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 
1-27-1) 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 315.138) 

$64.80 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Licensing Guide) 

N/A $20 (W. Va. Code 
R. 15-16-5) 
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Pharmacy technician trainee registration 

Survey responses (PRX) 
 

Description 

A pharmacy technician trainee may, under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, engage in the following activities at a location licensed as a 
terminal distributor of dangerous drugs to the extent that the activities do not require the exercise of professional judgment: 

(1) Accepting new written, faxed or electronic prescription orders from a prescriber or a prescriber’s agent but shall not include verbal orders; 

(2) Entering information into and retrieving information from a database or patient profile; 

(3) Preparing and affixing labels; 

(4) Stocking dangerous drugs and retrieving those drugs from inventory; 

(5) Counting and pouring dangerous drugs into containers; 

(6) Placing dangerous drugs into containers prior to dispensing by a pharmacist; 

(7) Non-sterile drug compounding following the completion of site-specific training pursuant to rule 4729:3-3-02 of the Administrative Code; 

(8) Sterile drug compounding following the completion of a site-specific training pursuant to rule 4729:3-3-02 of the Administrative Code; 

(9) Packaging and selling a dangerous drug to a patient or patient representative; and 

(10) Sending or receiving electronic prescriptions between pharmacies accessing the same prescription records in a centralized database or 
pharmacy computers linked in any other manner. 

 

Type (See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Occupational license. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2019 – 4,956 

Number renewed annually Technician trainee registration is not eligible for renewal. The registration is only valid for one 
year from the date of registration. The Board does allow technician trainees to request an 
extension.  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

(D) A registration for a pharmacy technician trainee is valid for one year from the date of 
registration. Registration is not renewable, but an individual may reapply for registration if the 
individual’s previous registration has lapsed for more than five years or the board grants its 
approval. An individual that is permitted to reapply for registration as a pharmacy technician 
trainee shall comply with the criminal records check requirements pursuant to rule 4729:3-2-02 
of the Administrative Code, unless otherwise determined by the board. 

A registration for a pharmacy technician trainee is no longer valid if an individual receives a 
registration to practice as a registered pharmacy technician or certified pharmacy technician. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Registration requirements became effective in April of 2018.  

Education or training requirements Has a high school diploma, a certificate of high school equivalence, a foreign school diploma that 
is equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma or has been employed continuously since prior to 
April 8, 2009, as a pharmacy technician without a high school diploma or certificate of high 
school equivalence. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Experience requirements N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Board receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $25.00 plus $3.50 eLicense system transaction fee  

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Duration  1 year  

(D) A registration for a pharmacy technician trainee is valid for one year from the date of 
registration. Registration is not renewable, but an individual may reapply for registration if the 
individual’s previous registration has lapsed for more than five years or the board grants its 
approval. An individual that is permitted to reapply for registration as a pharmacy technician 
trainee shall comply with the criminal records check requirements pursuant to rule 4729:3-2-02 
of the Administrative Code, unless otherwise determined by the board. 

A registration for a pharmacy technician trainee is no longer valid if an individual receives a 
registration to practice as a registered pharmacy technician or certified pharmacy technician. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-2-01 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Board recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  However, there are minimal standards to become registered as a pharmacy technician 
trainee. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

The Board recognizes national certifications as part of the licensure process. By law, the Board is 
required to recognize national certifications for certified technicians. Those include PTCB and 
ExCPT. These are only intended to test knowledge and not to protect against drug diversion. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the board? 

Rule 4729:3-1-01 permits “support personnel” to carry out certain functions without the 
requirement to register as a pharmacy technician. These generally allow cashiers and other 
personnel to work within the pharmacy without requiring registration with the Board.  

Is the Board permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, the Board is permitted to exercise discretion in determining whether to register a pharmacy 
technician. This is outlined in OAC 4729:3-2-01. This includes:  

(1) Comply with all requirements set forth in section 4729.90 of the Revised Code. 

(3) Comply with the criminal records check requirements pursuant to rule 4729:3-2-02 of the 
Administrative Code. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-4-01 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Board respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Administrative actions taken against a licensee can range from permanent revocation to imposition of fines. Suspensions and probations are 
also utilized, particularly in cases of substance abuse where rehabilitation is deemed possible. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4729:3-4-01 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Board to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal fees)? 
How is that revenue used? 

Revenue from Pharmacy Technician licensing, including registered, certified, and trainees, totaled $834,000 for fiscal years 2019 and 2020. 
Revenue is used to support the general operations of the Board of Pharmacy, including licensing, compliance and enforcement, and OARRS. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The regulation of the practice of pharmacy has traditionally been done at the state level by legislatively created state boards of pharmacy.  
There are no federal regulations that require regulation of pharmacy technicians. 
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What is the “harm” that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Through the registration of pharmacy technicians there is a reduced opportunity for diversion by establishing a registration system that 
prohibits a technician who engaged in drug theft from easily obtaining employment at another location.  Prior to the establishment of 
pharmacy technician registration,  pharmacy technicians accounted for more than one-third of all drug theft cases investigated by the Board 
of Pharmacy, and the lack of a registration process makes it too easy for a technician who is fired for theft to find new employment with 
another pharmacy. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes.  Since the adoption of technician registration, the Board has taken administrative action against technicians primarily for engaging in the 
theft of drugs.  For example, in FY 2019, the Board summarily suspended 33 technician registrations for violations that met the standard of 
“immediate and serious harm to others” in ORC 3719.121.  

 

Are there any changes the Board would like to see implemented? 

N/A 
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Comparison to other states (How many other states regulate the occupation? How do Ohio’s regulations compare to those others states? Is 
Ohio more restrictive? Less restrictive? Or somewhere in between?) 

Forty-five states require some form of licensure or registration of pharmacy technicians.  

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Pharmacy Technician Trainee Registration 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4729.95 
and 4729.99) 

Yes – technician in 
training permit 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-19-6) 

No Yes – temporary 
pharmacy 
technician license, 
available to 
individuals 
preparing for the 
pharmacy 
technician 
examination 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 333.17739b) 

No Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-5-11a) 

Education or 
training 

Enrolled in or plan 
to enroll in 
education and 
training as a 
pharmacy 

Enrolled and in 
good standing in 
an approved 
pharmacy 
technician 

N/A Enrolled in an 
approved 
pharmacy 
technician 
program (Mich. 

N/A Enrolled in an 
approved 
competency-
based pharmacy 
technician 
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Pharmacy Technician Trainee Registration 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

technician (R.C. 
4729.92) 

training program 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-26-19-6) 

Comp. Laws 
333.17739a and 
333.17739b) 

education and 
training program 
or an employee of 
a pharmacy in an 
on-the-job 
competency-
based pharmacy 
technician 
training program 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-5-11a) 

Experience No No N/A No N/A No 

Exam No No N/A No N/A No 

Continuing 
education 

No No N/A No N/A No 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$25 (R.C. 
4729.921) 

$25 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 1-27-
1; Indiana 
Professional 
Licensing Agency, 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Requirements and 
Application) 

N/A $16.20 (Licensing 
and Regulatory 
Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional 
Licensing, 
Michigan 
Pharmacy 
Technician 
Licensing Guide) 

N/A $25, but 
according to the 
West Virginia 
Board of 
Pharmacy, the fee 
is waived for the 
foreseeable 
future 



Ohio Legislative Service Commission 147 Occupational Regulation 

Pharmacy Technician Trainee Registration 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration One year (R.C. 
4729.921) 

No more than one 
year (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-26-19-6) 

N/A One year (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
333.17739b) 

N/A 15 months (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-7-4) 

Renewal fee Not renewable 
(R.C. 4729.921) 

Not renewable N/A Not renewable N/A Not renewable, 
but a trainee may 
petition for an 
extension (W. Va. 
Code R. 15-7-4) 

 

Home medical equipment provider license 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Home Medical Equipment Provider License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4752.02) Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-26-21-11) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 309.412) 

No No, but device 
distributors must 
register with the 
Pennsylvania 
Department of 
Health (35 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 780-
106; email 
correspondence 
with Pennsylvania 
Department of 

No 
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Home Medical Equipment Provider License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Health, April 15, 
2020, and April 
16, 2020) 

Education or 
training 

Must maintain 
knowledge of the 
duties and 
responsibilities of 
a home medical 
equipment 
services provider 
(O.A.C. 4729:11-3-
01) 

No No, but applicant 
must either: 

1. Submit proof 
of 
accreditation 
or exemption 
by a national 
accreditation 
organization 
approved by 
the Centers 
for Medicare 
and Medicaid 
Services; or 

2. Submit to an 
inspection by 
the Board to 
ensure the 
applicant’s 
ability to 
comply with 
Kentucky law 

(201 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 47:010) 

N/A No N/A 
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Home Medical Equipment Provider License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience No No No N/A No N/A 

Exam No No No N/A No N/A 

Continuing 
education 

Ten hours every 
two years (R.C. 
4752.07; O.A.C. 
4729:11-3-04) 

No, but licensee 
must ensure 
employees 
receive annual 
training (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-26-21-6) 

No, but licensee 
must provide to 
employees at 
least six hours of 
annual training 
related to 
providing home 
medical 
equipment and 
services (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
47:010) 

N/A No N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

Not more than 
$1,200 (O.A.C. 
4729:11-2-01) 

$150 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 1-39-
7) 

$350 (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
47:010) 

N/A $25 (28 Pa. Code 
25.115) 

N/A 

License duration Two years (R.C. 
4752.05) 

Two years (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-26-
21-8) 

Two years (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 
315.520) 

N/A One year (35 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 780-
106) 

N/A 

Renewal fee Not more than 
$1,200 (O.A.C. 
4729:11-2-01) 

$200 (856 Ind. 
Admin. Code 1-39-
7) 

$350 (201 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
47:010) 

N/A $25 (28 Pa. Code 
25.115) 

N/A 
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Home medical equipment provider certificate of registration 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 
 

Home Medical Equipment Provider Certificate of Registration 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4752.02) No  No separate 
certificate of 
registration, but 
accreditation is 
one basis for 
issuance of the 
home medical 
equipment 
provider license 

No No No 

Education or 
training 

Accreditation 
required (R.C. 
4752.03; O.A.C. 
4729:11-2-01) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

Not more than 
$500 (O.A.C. 
4729:11-2-01) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Home Medical Equipment Provider Certificate of Registration 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Two years (R.C. 
4752.12) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee Not more than 
$500 (O.A.C. 
4729:11-2-01) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

  


